Skip to content

The Wallenberg Endowment

A few dedicated faculty and staff at the University of Michigan started a committee interested in a broad-based effort to honor 1935 alumnus Raoul Wallenberg on behalf of the University. In 1985, they established the endowment through contributions from almost 500 individuals and organizations from the United States, Canada and Europe to sponsor an annual lecture and award to perpetuate the memory of Wallenberg’s heroism and nobility of spirit.

Contributions to the Wallenberg Endowment fund summer travel awards for undergraduate students and provide needed support for the annual medal and lecture program. Future gifts will fund new initiatives such as a high school curriculum in humanitarianism, seminars and speakers on humanitarian and human rights topics, workshops and outreach to students surrounding each lecture and medal presentation and collaborations across campus and with other universities.

When Wallenberg’s sister, Nina Lagergren, came from Sweden in the fall of 2001 to accept the Wallenberg Medal on behalf of her brother, she emphasized in her lecture the importance of reaching out to young people. It is, after all, the best way to begin to change the world. University of Michigan undergraduates go forth into a global society stricken with the persistent problems of war, terrorism, racism and ethnic hatred. The example of Raoul Wallenberg can inspire young people that they can play a role in making the world a better place—and to the belief that one person can make a difference.

Please make your gift today to support the Wallenberg Endowment.

How to Make a Gift

A donation to the Wallenberg Endowment is an opportunity to support humanitarianism, moral courage and ethical action in the face of evil. As we move forward into an already troubled new century, the legacy of Raoul Wallenberg has never been more vital.


You can make a credit card gift using the Online Giving site.


You can make a gift via check or credit card by printing out this form and mailing it to:
Wallenberg Endowment
915 E. Washington St, Suite 1530
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-1070


Please call Charlotte Myers 734-764-1125 between the hours of 9 am and 5 pm Monday-Friday, Eastern Standard Time, to make a credit card gift. 

Matching Gifts

You can increase your gift by making use of your company's matching gift program.

If your company is eligible, request a matching gift form from your employer, and send it completed and signed with your gift. We will do the rest. The impact of your gift may be doubled or possibly tripled! Some companies match gifts made by retirees and/or spouses.

Gift by Bequest, Trust, or Gift Annuity

Please contact Anna Mann 734-647-4572,

Gift by Transfer of Stock

Please contact Anna Mann, 734-647-4572,


University of Michigan Wallenberg Executive Committee (December 2013)

The Wallenberg Executive Committee comprises volunteers with a shared commitment to humanitarianism and human rights who are dedicated to maintaining the legacy of Raoul Wallenberg at the University of Michigan. The Committee’s primary responsibility is to select the Wallenberg Medalist each year.

John Godfrey, Chair
Assistant Dean for International Education, Rackham Graduate School, University of Michigan
Irene Butter
Professor Emerita of Health Management and Policy, School of Public Health, University of Michigan; longtime member of Wallenberg Executive Committee
Irwin Goldstein
Professor Emeritus, Medical School, Department of Biological Chemistry, University of Michigan
Judith Lax
Community volunteer; longtime member of Wallenberg Executive Committee
Joan H. Lowenstein
Attorney and Counselor, Jaffe Raitt Heuer & Weiss, P.C.
Andrew F. Nagy
Professor Emeritus, Atmospheric, Oceanic and Space Sciences, College of Engineering, University of Michigan; longtime member of Wallenberg Executive Committee
Penny Schreiber
Community volunteer
Tilly Shames
Executive Director, University of Michigan Hillel
Dominique S. Warren
Student, Gerald R. Ford School of Public Policy, University of Michigan
Francis W. Wayman, Jr.
Professor of Political Science, University of Michigan-Dearborn
Donna Wessel Walker
Associate Director and Advisor, Honors Program, College of Literature, Science and the Arts, University of Michigan
Evans Young
Assistant Dean for Undergraduate Education, College of Literature, Science, and the Arts, University of Michigan
Jon Rush
Emeritus Professor, School of Art and Design, University of Michigan. Longtime member of Wallenberg Executive Committee. Designed Wallenberg Medal which carries portrait of Raoul Wallenberg and inscription “One person can make a difference.”